Menewsha Avatar Community

Menewsha Avatar Community (https://www.menewsha.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://www.menewsha.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   Curry curry curry~! (https://www.menewsha.com/forum/showthread.php?t=185436)

Elluh 06-30-2011 08:16 PM

Curry curry curry~!

:B!
Curry, I'll be attempting to make my first ever batch
of Japanese curry tomorrow. I know it's Indian as well,
but famous in japan too. I've never tried making
it and I've been wanting to try it for a really
long time. I've never eaten curry before.
I know it goes well with steamed rice.

So I was wondering what's your favorite
type of curry?
Do you like it mild,hot, or very hot? I think there's a
very hot..I'm pretty sure.
Do you have any tips for me?
I'm a pretty good cook, so I think I'll get it down.

Anaxilea 06-30-2011 08:28 PM

Ugh! I'm so sick of curry that I'll be happy if I never eat it again.

Don't get me wrong, I love the (mild) Indian curries, and we make them often at home, as well as going out for Indian food a LOT. I've made my own naan bread from scratch, too. In fact... we make it so often, that I'm tired of the stuff. REALLY tired of it.

The best advice I can give you is to put spicy ingredients in a little at a time. Most Indian recipes (I don't know about the Japanese ones, but I assume the same) assume you're going for a spicy dish - that's what curry is famous for, after all. So instead of looking at a certain spice as the "bare minimum" you might put in a dish, instead remember that it's probably a healthy dose of fire. You can always add more heat - you can't take it away.

Cooking rice is tricky as well. If you don't have a rice cooker, you'll have to do it the old fashioned way. It's important to continuously check the rice. Undercooked, crunchy rice is dry and disgusting. Overcooked rice turns to an unappetizing mush, and then burns. Make sure you're stirring it often. Rice will stick to the bottom of the pot and scorch.