Elmira Swift
Curator of Alluvium

Penpal

Old 03-30-2014, 05:18 PM

Two years ago my goal was to work in a library or archive. I finished my second graduate degree (library and information science) May 2013 and worked on some projects with friends to see if one or two of their businesses would take off so I could work at home. Sadly, the businesses didn't work out and I had to start thinking about an on-site job. I gave myself a deadline: If I did not find something steady to do at home, I'd start looking for an on-site job.

The hitch? Both of my kids (15yo daughter and 5yo son at the time) have disabilities. My daughter is homeschooled and we planned on enrolling her in an independent study program if I had to work elsewhere. We met with her therapist to discuss our next steps and I was told it would be detrimental to her if I work on-site. We had to go through the process of having her declared disabled so she could have access to more expansive services.

I could be angry about this because I spent a ridiculous amount of time and money on my education - but the reason I did it in the first place was so I could provide more for my kids. Not my ego.

So, what now? I made a conscious decision to forge ahead, find even a lame job working at home, and embrace the positives I see at home and in my life every day.

Elmira Swift
Curator of Alluvium

Penpal

Old 03-30-2014, 05:24 PM

Started our day with a family outing to Wafflehouse. We go to the same one regularly and are familiar with the waitstaff. They've literally watched my kids grow up. One of the few places my daughter feels comfortable regardless of the sensory overload (sound and people). Even had a nostalgic moment when the jukebox had a song by The Cars playing. They were the first band I saw in concert