geminick
Art & BJD Nerd Deluxe

Old 08-18-2014, 11:32 AM

Hi everyone!

I recently finished uploading my first two Monster High doll OOAK repaints to my Etsy shop and decided to ask around on here if anyone's into repainting Monster High dolls?

If yes, do you have a portfolio or someplace where I can see them? I'd love to check them out. :)

I'm not a pro at all, like I said, I just started out, so don't feel shy to share your stuff!

Here are mine, by the way.

Anyone? :)

Penella Goldeater
*^_^*

Old 08-18-2014, 11:42 AM

Those are great!! I've been thinking about getting into altered dolls. I sort of used to do it when I was a kid... let's just say I had more than a few gothic barbies when I hit my teens. How do you do the hair? I mean I know that's a loaded question and you don't have to give a tutorial or anything but I'm curious. Can you give me an outline maybe. Like an idea of the process?

geminick
Art & BJD Nerd Deluxe

Old 08-18-2014, 12:28 PM

Thank you! ^^

Unfortunately, I didn't make those two wigs, they were bought from another maker. However, I intend to start doing my own wigs for them, since I do know how. ^^ Here is a link to a tutorial about how to make mohair wigs the way I do; Making a Mohair Wig for your Fashion Doll . There are also other ways, of course, so here is a different one; Tiny Mohair Wig Tutorial - Antique Lilac .
But these are just if you're going to create a wig. You could always give them permanent hair by pulling out all of the hair the factory put there and root in new strands of hair. Here you have a tutorial on how to fully customize a Monster High doll, including rerooting her hair; Nuu's Cusps: Doll Customising: Monster High Dolls - Prepping and Rerooting .