Bound Birdie
Mistress of Mischief and Mayhem

Old 11-07-2008, 09:19 PM

Welcome

Intro: How this thread got started! (you are here)
About Open Canvas (and download link!)
Tutorials
WpeS!!! >.<
Reserved (in case I think of something else)

Anyways! As you can probably tell I love this program. I am very new to digital art and have only bought my Bamboo about 6 months ago. I was unable to install the programs (photoshop, coral painter and... something else >.<) so I was happy to know of Open Canvas. Free, tiny, and simple.
Though I have played with it quite a bit I feel like I am always learning more about it and I still always ask a TON of questions:
Lovely CK was very helpful one day:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CK View Post
Yeah - I have or have tried other art programs, but OpenCanvas has stayed my favorite... I'm going to try "SAI" sometime, though, as I hear that's also good. :) OC is also far less likely to crash and eat your work. XD;
I got one of the filenames wrong anyway. >_> ".wpe" files are the OpenCanvas1.1 files where you an watch an artist work on a picture. You can save one yourself by clicking the "Export" thing...... (The ".oe3" files are OpenCanvas 3+ version files. And since you don't have that, there's not much point in me uploading any. XD; )
I looked through all my .wpe files I still had and only found two I thought you'd be able to use to learn from... both are Legend of Zelda fanart pieces. XD;
If you like this image of Link and Navi then save-as on this .wpe file.
And if you like this picture of Shiek, then here is the .wpe file.
And if you'd like more, this thread on ConceptArts is all about sharing .wpe files. :3 And the artists who hang out there are way, way better than I am, I'm betting. (Assuming everyone who posts there has an account and all...)
Anyway, just save it somewhere and then go to OpenCanvas, click "File" and "Import Event File" and it should play!