Kat Dakuu
hyperactive catdemon

Penpal

Old 04-02-2013, 07:16 PM

I've noticed lately how popular digital art is getting to be as opposed to that of traditional artists (I'm speaking specifically of on avatar forums). The thing that bothers me is that I've noticed people considering digital art as of higher quality. I'm a traditional artist myself and I don't think my art gets as much attention as that of digital artists. I might be going a little crazy, but I also think I don't get paid as much for art of the same quality. I've even noticed in one person's art contest/request, that they weren't accepting traditional art unless it was really amazing.

What do you guys think?
When ordering art online such as on a forum, do you prefer traditional or digital? Do you think one looks more professional than the other, or of higher quality??

xuvrette
(づ。❤‿...

Old 05-03-2013, 09:37 AM

I always thinks this is a very hot topic to discuss.

For me, I think most people appear on avatar forums are exposed to manga, clean and shiny digital art. As for traditional, it is pulled down by how you scan it. Many people don't seem to know how to clean their scanned art and thus make the quality drop. I am not sure what are the new scanner settings, but few years ago, the scanner picks up dust and all the fuzziness of lines. It is not nice, even if I scale it down it still looks squiggled.

For traditional, I love watercolour, pencils, pens, pastels... especially watercolour! Yet it is also dominating by the scan quality. Or camera quality. If your traditional is good, but you didn't adjust the light or clear the debris, it will still look bad and dirty. More on presentation.

Fundamentally, I think the most important would be the skills. Traditional or digital, they share the same principles in creating art, through different media. Round is round, square is square. Need to follow anatomy, and the human body.

Kat Dakuu
hyperactive catdemon

Penpal

Old 05-03-2013, 05:27 PM