CrossHatch
\ (•◡•) /

Old 02-03-2013, 02:41 AM

So, I've been interested in getting into role playing. But, I've never done it before really, not in a traditional sense I guess. I role play on here in the normal forums as ol' CrossHatch here, the steam powered automaton. Though, I really want to get into role playing for real...

My question, are there any tips or hints, advice, anything for a newbie mcnewberson? Or perhaps, someone who could PM with me a little bit to kind of get the hang of how it goes?

My goal is to RP on here, and also start doing table top games like World of Darkness and whatnot... just, need to figure out how this all works first!! haha

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!!

HappyStarr
(^._.^)ノ

Old 02-03-2013, 03:36 AM

There are all sorts of ways to roleplay, but I personally have always thought of it as collaborative story-telling. Some people are very casual and just like to do things one line at a time, reacting to each other. Others are far more detailed (also called "literate") and put a lot of focus into their story-telling elements. They create entire worlds with their own natural laws, cultures, ethic codes and so on for their characters to live in. Usually, it's preferred to write in third person (Suzy walked to the candy story to buy some Mars Bars), and this should be a default unless otherwise stated.