Uniplex
Valentinez Alkalinella Xifax Sic...

Old 10-03-2014, 02:54 PM

Hey!
So my friends and I have a book club, and we often times share books with each other (Like, last year we read the Divergent series, but I didn't have means to acquire them, so my friend read them all then lent them to me, then we met for our meeting).
I am asking what kinds of books do you share with your friends/family? Or do you?

Wings of Writing
~★St☆rlight★~

Old 10-03-2014, 10:21 PM

I'm in a constant position of trying to convince my family to read the books I do, and them telling me no. I should clarify that I'm a graduate student in English and so the books I'm reading can vary a bit from what the average bear.

That being said, I can generally speaking convince my dad to read dystopian novels, like I had him read Unwind by Neal Shusterman, with enough convincing or manipulating or agreeing to read something he wants me to read. But my mom and sister flat out refuse, stating everything I read is too dark.

With my friends, I just share what ever I think is good. I'm friends with voracious readers and so they're generally down for everything. I think my most recent recommendation to a friend was The Color Purple by Alice Walker.

Uniplex
Valentinez Alkalinella Xifax Sic...

Old 10-06-2014, 01:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wings of Writing View Post
I'm in a constant position of trying to convince my family to read the books I do, and them telling me no. I should clarify that I'm a graduate student in English and so the books I'm reading can vary a bit from what the average bear.

That being said, I can generally speaking convince my dad to read dystopian novels, like I had him read Unwind by Neal Shusterman, with enough convincing or manipulating or agreeing to read something he wants me to read. But my mom and sister flat out refuse, stating everything I read is too dark.