XxZombie.Mama.NephxX
Snakes & Crossbones

Old 05-04-2013, 04:19 AM

When it comes to art there are a few ways you can go about learning how to draw. You could go to small paid classes at night, go to an arts college or Study on your own with gathered materials from the library and set up you own live studies. Heck you can even find awesome and informative tutorials on youtube for free!

Have you ever noticed how art remains one of the few rare careers where your portfolio speaks louder than college degrees. If a company likes your portfolio and personality they are likely to hire you regardless of art degrees.

Why do you think this is?
Do you have a story about your learning journey?
What about you are you Schooled or self taught?

Personally I think it's because of the way artists incorporate feelings directly into their line of work. Since there is really no way to be taught emotion or feelings I believe it leaves room for "un-educated" workers.

While an artist maybe the most technically skilled with the highest degrees in an art school around, if there work or personality doesn't move you or their commissioners in some way (good or bad) they will never be successful. (imo of course)

xuvrette
(づ。❤‿...

Old 05-04-2013, 08:30 AM

I started by doodling around with any thing I can get my hands on. I vaguely remember the style of art that time was heavily influenced by western cartoon, FLinstone for example. XD Then when I reached 10 years old, I am sucked into Japan's world~ <33 I fall in love with their style. I had been to 2 different art class, but those 2 art class are just NOT gear towards manga/anime, I quit after a few months. x.x

During that time, the art class are all... art. People just don't consider comic as a material to learn in art class.