la-la-london
(-.-)zzZ

Old 12-27-2015, 02:17 AM

I'm not sure how to make fight scenes and stuff feel exciting through writing. Does anyone have tips on how to make it feel fast-paced and energetic?

xuvrette
(づ。❤‿...

Old 12-27-2015, 06:51 AM

My experience is... the faster the action, the shorter your sentence!
Try to tone down description(which I fail), focus on plain action.

Well, of course you can't have sentence like.
A punch, B kick, A dodge, B elbow attack...
just have to strike a good balance of short and make the sentence more...erm... storylike?

I am no expert, just what I like to read about action. Cause those flowery description of the weapon, flashy description of their awesome boot while kicking.... makes me faint.
... and that is what I tend to write... I am curbing it now. *sighs*

la-la-london
(-.-)zzZ

Old 12-27-2015, 09:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by xuvrette View Post
My experience is... the faster the action, the shorter your sentence!
Try to tone down description(which I fail), focus on plain action.

Well, of course you can't have sentence like.
A punch, B kick, A dodge, B elbow attack...
just have to strike a good balance of short and make the sentence more...erm... storylike?

I am no expert, just what I like to read about action. Cause those flowery description of the weapon, flashy description of their awesome boot while kicking.... makes me faint.
... and that is what I tend to write... I am curbing it now. *sighs*
I see, that makes a lot of sense! I tend to be very descriptive too lol, i suspect that that's my problem. I'll have to try and curb it myself. Thank you and good luck!

xuvrette
(づ。❤‿...

Old 12-27-2015, 01:32 PM

Prepare a list of actions verb! Group the same/similar together... so you won't use 'kick' a thousand times.
stuff like swirl, twirl, turn, twist... that is one group since they are quite similar.
Punch, jab, blow, slap... could be one group of hand attack, though their clenching of fingers might be different.