Ise
(。⌒∇⌒)&...
Send a message via AIM to Ise Send a message via MSN to Ise

Old 04-25-2008, 08:19 PM

Alright, if you're an artist you know you've had 'em. Particularly if you're a traditional media artist, I think. It isn't to say doing digital work doesn't have its own set of woes, but most of those are typically computers being a pain in the ass troubles. xD; Still, if you've had some strange ones, shoot 'em out.

So. The prompt to this thread happens to be me today, fussing around. I am a traditional media artist primarily (aka my digital work sucks like you wouldn't believe). Here I am, sittin' on the floor working to finish up one of my many paintings for Survey on my birthday this coming Tuesday and drat it all, the nib to my pen has finally kicked the bucket (FYI, I've been using a crow quill dip pen holder and a crow quill #2 nib ). Nothing atypical, and honestly this one has lasted me about four or five months, which is pretty damn good given the amount of use and the types of uses I have for them. Eventually the tips just kind of get bent and twisted in nearly imperceptible ways. Sometimes you can mess around with a pair of needle nose pliers and fix it, but ultimately they will just go kaput on ya. I'd already fixed this one once and didn't feel like fussing with it again.

Well honestly, fussing might have been easier. Oi vey. So I went and got my pliers (easier to work 'em out and sometimes you need them? XD ) and sat down to tug it out. Generally they fit pretty snug, so it takes a wee little bit of effort. Uh.. yeah. This one had been used so long that it had kind of rusted into my holder xD;;; I wound up completely destroying the nib itself before I finally got the bloody thing out and I slipped so many times that the handle of my pliers rubbed a spot on my finger raw. Ow. I'm just glad I didn't ruin the holder... xD;