View Poll Results: Are video games art?
Yes they are. 4 66.67%
No they aren't. 0 0%
It depends on the game. 2 33.33%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

FuzzyLumpkin
⊙ω⊙

Old 03-14-2011, 10:38 PM

I was just curious as to how other people view their video games. Do you see them as a form of art, or simply a form of entertainment?

As a student of concept art and a basic programmer I can certainly say I view them as art, but what do you think?

I'm curious to hear other people's views on this. :)

Arkkath
Broseidon, King of the Broceans
Send a message via MSN to Arkkath

Old 03-15-2011, 04:15 PM

Absolutely. I'm a graphic designer and a gamer. Every game can be considered art in it's own way, some games more than others. Every game has it's own art style that makes it unique from other ones.
Let's take Legend of Zelda Wind Waker for example. It has a cartoony, cel shaded art style that I very much like. The game seems kiddish on the outside, but the child-like graphics actually hide a somewhat dark story.
Another example is the game Okami. It has an amazing art style too.

FuzzyLumpkin
⊙ω⊙

Old 03-15-2011, 06:27 PM

I think that having experience in an area based on design like Graphics helps people appreciate it more. It's the same with me.

And I agree with each game being art in it's own way. I think Murumasa's artistic direction is some of the most beautiful I've seen - it's like playing a painting, and like Wind Waker it's cartoony graphics hide a deep story.

Arkkath

Old 03-15-2011, 06:43 PM

Ooo that's really cool. I've never heard of that game, but just from the picture, I really like the style.

And definitely agreed about having an artistic background. It for sure helps to appreciate the different styles and whatnot.

BurningCrusade
⊙ω⊙

Old 03-16-2011, 10:48 AM

It's definetly becoming an Art Form.

Games like Mirror's Edge, Killer 7, Wet, even simple games like Kirby's Epic Yarn..

Some games are definetly taking an artistic direction.

Arkkath