adella_demona
ʘ‿ʘ

Old 03-23-2010, 04:45 AM

Just to make this clear, I'm not searching for pity. Everything I say is 100% true. I'm lucky to be here and happy to have made it through all of it. I just feel like I need to "spill the beans" so to speak. Get it out there and get others ideas on it because it's a little more personal than I'd like to say to another person face to face. At least I can still retain my anonymity on the internet to an extent. Another disclaimer: I have worked through this all in the past 5 years. I've let it go, I just need to vent.

:yumeh2:

I'm 19 years old and a Sophomore in college. I'm an art student. I've lived in southern Mississippi for most of my life (yay hurricanes), but to really get to the center of everything I have to start about 15 years ago. July 6, 1995 I lost a baby sister. I was 4 1/2 at the time. Her name was Amber and she would have been 2 years old the very next day. She drowned in a creek not even 2 miles from our home. Needless to say, I witnessed everything. I have no very pleasant childhood memories before or after that. That day is my most vivid yet foggiest childhood memory. That and Amber's wake.

Imagine the next few years. I'm 4 1/2 and got along with my little sister better than most siblings. We never fought and always played nice. And all of a sudden my baby sister is gone and I don't know where she went. All Mama and Daddy would say was "Amber went to see Jesus," which I didn't really understand at the time. A 4 year old can't comprehend death. I'm the only child now and will be for the next year or so. My parents were busy grieving and I'm just left in the dark with my imaginary friends (mom says I used to talk to them at the dinner table). I didn't remember doing this until my mom told me, but I used to go around to all my family members and friends of the family and ask "Do you love me?" over and over again. Everyone was so preoccupied with grief that I was ignored a little bit.